Apple News Facebook Twitter 新浪微博 Instagram YouTube Thursday, Feb 27, 2020

Philippines imposes travel ban on South Korea's North Gyeongsang Province

(Xinhua)    09:05, February 27, 2020

MANILA, Feb. 26 (Xinhua) -- The Philippines announced on Wednesday that it has imposed a travel ban on South Korea's North Gyeongsang province following a spike of novel coronavirus cases in that province.

"The Inter-Agency Task Force on Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF) has approved to impose a ban on the entry of travelers coming from the North Gyeongsang Province of South Korea into Philippine territory, effective immediately," Philippine Presidential Spokesperson Salvador Panelo told a news conference at the Philippine presidential palace.

With respect to other parts of South Korea, he said the inter-agency task force "shall conduct a risk assessment of the situation in the country within 48 hours to analyze whether it is necessary to expand the travel ban thereto."

In the meantime, Panelo said strict protocols with respect to travelers entering the country from these areas in South Korea will continue to be observed.

Panelo also added Filipino tourists would not be allowed to travel to the whole of South Korea, saying that ban exempts whose who "are permanent residents thereof, leaving for study, or are overseas Filipino workers therein."

"(These Filipinos) are to execute and sign a declaration, signifying their knowledge and understanding of the risks involved, prior to their travel," he added.

South Korea confirmed 284 more cases of the COVID-19 on Wednesday, raising the total number of infections to 1,261, and the death toll rose to 12.

The Philippines on Tuesday advised its citizens to avoid non-essential trips to Daegu City and Cheongdo county in South Korea.

(For the latest China news, Please follow People's Daily on Twitter and Facebook)(Web editor: Zhao Tong, Bianji)

Add your comment

Related reading

We Recommend

Most Read

Key Words