Apple News Facebook Twitter 新浪微博 Instagram YouTube Saturday, Dec 7, 2019

China fourth in women's team sprint in ISU Speed Skating World Cup

(Xinhua)    15:53, December 07, 2019

The Netherlands took victory in women's team sprint of the Speed Skating World Cup in Kazakhstan's capital Nur-Sultan Friday when China finished fourth.

In the women's race, the Netherlands clocked one minute 27.955 seconds to win, while Russia and Poland ranked second and third respectively. Chinese team claimed fourth in 1:30.634.

Ten teams participated in the men's team sprint. The Dutch team won their third consecutive team sprint title in 1:19.958, while Norway and Switzerand finished second and third respectively.

Brittany Bowe, American world record holder, took another 1,000m win in 1:14.280. Russian skater Daria Kachanova took silver and her compatriot Olga Fatkulina got bronze. China's Zhao Xin and Li Qi ranked 11th and 15th respectively.

Russian skater Viktor Mushtakov and his compatriot Ruslan Muranshov had a one-two finish in the men's 500m race. The bronze went to Alex Boisvert-Lacroix of Canada. Chinese skater Gao Tingyu finished 8th in a time of 34.961.

Canadian skater Ivanie Blondin won her career first 5,000m World Cup race in 6:54.945.

The competition at Nur-Sultan stop is held on Dec. 6-8.

The ISU World Cup Speed Skating Series this season includes five stops and a World Cup final. After the third stop in Nur-Sultan, the Series will take place in Japan's Nagano and Canada's Calgary. The Final will be held in the Dutch city of Heerenveen on March 7-8.

(For the latest China news, Please follow People's Daily on Twitter and Facebook)(Web editor: Liu Ning, Bianji)

Add your comment

Related reading

We Recommend

Most Read

Key Words