Apple News Facebook Twitter 新浪微博 Instagram YouTube Thursday, Jun 27, 2019

Backgrounder: Numerical facts about Osaka G20 summit

(Xinhua)    13:46, June 27, 2019

OSAKA, Japan, June 27 (Xinhua) -- The Group of 20 (G20) summit is to be held from Friday to Saturday in Japan's Osaka this year, with leaders of major economies and international organizations gathering to discuss on global issues such as economy, trade, and environment.

The summit will host leaders and representatives of nations and international organizations, including G20 members, eight invited countries and nine international organizations.

G20 members include France, Britain, Germany, Japan, Italy, Canada, the United States, the European Union, Argentina, Australia, Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, Mexico, South Korea, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa and Turkey.

Eight invited countries include the Netherlands, Singapore, Spain, Vietnam, Thailand as ASEAN (Association of Southeast Asian Nations) chair, Egypt as AU (African Union) chair, Chile as APEC (Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation) chair, and Senegal as NEPAD (New Partnership for Africa's Development) chair.

Nine international organizations include the United Nations, the Asian Development Bank, the Financial Stability Board, the International Labour Organization, the International Monetary Fund, the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, the World Bank, the World Health Organization, and the World Trade Organization.

There are nine Japanese cities that host the G20 summit and the related ministerial meetings through out 2019.

Four ministerial meetings, including Agriculture Ministers' Meeting, Finance Ministers and Central bank Governors Meeting, Ministerial Meeting on Trade and Digital Economy, and Ministerial Meeting on Energy Transitions and Global Environment for Sustainable Growth, had been held in Japan's Niigata, Fukuoka, Tsukuba and Karuizawa respectively in May and June ahead of the summit.

The rest four ministerial meetings - Labor and Employment Ministers' Meeting, Health Ministers' Meeting, Tourism Ministers' Meeting, Foreign Ministers' Meeting - will be held in the second half of 2019 after the summit.

The Osaka summit will discuss eight themes, including global economy, trade and investment, innovation, environment and energy, employment, women's empowerment, development and health.

Osaka, the host city of the G20 summit this year, is one of Japan's economic hubs. INTEX Osaka, the main venue for the summit, is the largest exhibition facility in western Japan, with a total exhibition area of 70,000 square meters.

(For the latest China news, Please follow People's Daily on Twitter and Facebook)(Web editor: Sheng Chuyi, Liang Jun)

Add your comment

Related reading

Full coverage

We Recommend

Most Read

Key Words