Apple News Facebook Twitter 新浪微博 Instagram YouTube Tuesday, Feb 12, 2019

UNESCO announces laureates of 21st International Awards For Women in Science

(Xinhua)    13:34, February 12, 2019

PARIS, Feb. 11 (Xinhua) -- Paris-based UN Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) on Monday unveiled the list of five laureates of the 2019 L'Oreal-UNESCO Women in Science Awards, an initiative that "honors outstanding women scientists."

The five laureates are Najat Aoun Saliba from Lebanon, Japanese Professor Maki Kawai, Argentina's Karen Hallberg, Claire Voisin from France and the American Ingrid Daubechies.

The 2019 edition of the awards extends to two more research areas, mathematics and computer science.

"These exceptional women are recognized for the excellence of their research in the fields of material science, mathematics and computer science," UNESCO said in a statement.

"Each laureate receive 100,000 euros (112,730 U.S. dollars) and their achievements will be celebrated alongside those of 15 promising young women scientists from around the world at an awards ceremony on March 14 at UNESCO's Headquarters in Paris," it said.

Since 1998, the L'Oreal Foundation, in partnership with UNESCO, has honored five exceptional female researchers every year, each from the following regions: Africa & the Arab States, Asia-Pacific, Europe, Latin America, and North America. (1 euro = 1.127 U.S. dollar)

(For the latest China news, Please follow People's Daily on Twitter and Facebook)(Web editor: He Zhuoyan, Bianji)

Add your comment

Related reading

We Recommend

Most Read

Key Words