Facebook Twitter 新浪微博 google plus Instagram YouTube Friday 10 July 2015

Indonesia closes 5 airports due to volcanic activities in E. Java

(Xinhua)    12:13, July 10, 2015

JAKARTA, July 10-- Indonesia on Friday closed the operation of five airports following the escalating volcanic activities of Mount Raung in Bondowoso, East Java.

The airports are Ngurah Rai International Airport, Lombok International Airport, Selaparang Airport, Blimbingsari Airport and Notohadinegoro Airport, all located in three provinces of Bali, West Nusa Tenggara (NTB) and East Java.

"The closure was based on five NOTAM (Notice to Airmen) issued by the Air Transport Director General," JA Barata, a spokesperson at the Transportation Ministry said in a statement.

According to the NOTAM, closure on those five airports was conducted at different times. Ngurah Rai Airport was closed until 6:30 Central Indonesian Time (WITA). The airports in NTB province, Lombok International and Selaparang were closed until 9:00 WITA.

Meanwhile, the airports in East Java province, Blimbingsari and Notohadinegoro in cities of Banyuwangi and Jember were closed until 12:00 and 8:00 Western Indonesian Time (WIB).

Barata said the NOTAM would be punctually updated, adjusted with the development and condition of the Raung volcanic ash spread.

According to Barata, the Raung volcanic ash has disrupted eight domestic and one international flights that used to ply routes from west to east parts of Java island.

(For the latest China news, Please follow People's Daily on Twitter and Facebook)(Editor:Ma Xiaochun,Bianji)

Add your comment

Related reading

We Recommend

Most Viewed


Key Words