A reference to the armed uprising led by the Communist Party in the town of Bose in the Youjiang area of Guangxi Province (the present Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region) during the Agrarian Revolutionary War [1927-1937]. In July 1929 Deng Xiaoping went to Guangxi as a representative of the CPC Central Committee. On December 11, 1929, under the leadership of Deng, Zhang Yunyi, Lei Jingtian, Wei Baqun and others, the Fourth Brigade and the Training Corps of the Guangxi Garrison, together with the peasant forces in Youjiang, staged an uprising in Bose and formed the Seventh Army of the Chinese Workers' and Peasants' Red Army, with Zhang Yunyi as Commander and Deng as Political Commissar and secretary of the Front Committee. The next day the Youjiang Soviet Government was established. On February 1, 1930, Deng, Li Mingrui, Yu Zuoyu and others led the Longzhou Uprising and formed the Eighth Army of the Red Army, with Yu Zuoyu as Commander and Deng as Political Commissar. Li Mingrui became the Commander-in-Chief of the Seventh and Eighth Armies. At the same time, the Zuojiang Soviet Government was established. Thus the Zuojiang-Youjiang Revolutionary Base Area came into existence. In October 1930 part of the Eighth Army was incorporated into the Seventh Army, which after fighting all the way along the borders of Guangxi, Hunan, Guangdong and Shanxi provinces, arrived at the Central Revolutionary Base Area in July 1931. There the Seventh Army was incorporated into the First Front Army of the Chinese Workers' and Peasants' Red Army.