A reference to the Southwest Bureau of the CPC Central Committee. On July 16, 1949, the Central Committee decided that Deng Xiaoping, Liu Bocheng, He Long and others form the bureau, which was officially set up on November 23, with Deng Xiaoping serving as first secretary, Liu Bocheng as second and He Long as third secretary.