Liu Bocheng (1892-1986) was a native of Kaixian, Sichuan Province. In his early years he joined the students army, formed in response to the Revolution of 1911, and fought in the wars for protecting the Republic and upholding the Provisional Constitution. In 1926 he joined the Chinese Communist Party. As chief of the general staff corps under the CPC Frontline Committee, he was one of the leaders of the August the First Nanchang Uprising, in 1927. Towards the end of the year, he went to study in the Soviet Union. After his return to China, in 1930, he served as member of the Military Commission of the CPC Central Committee, president and political commissar of the Chinese Workers' and Peasants' Red Army Academy, and chief of the general staff of the Central Revolutionary Military Commission. In 1934 he took part in the Long March, serving as chief of the general staff of the Red Army and commander of the Central Column. After the Red Army's First and Fourth Front Armies joined forces, he waged a resolute struggle with Zhu De and others against Zhang Guotao's attempts to split the Party. Following the outbreak of the anti-Japanese war, he became commander of the Eighth Route Army's 129th Division. Together with its political commissar, Deng Xiaoping, he set up the Shanxi-Hebei-Henan and other anti-Japanese base areas. During the War of Liberation he served as commander of the Shanxi-Hebei-Shandong-Henan Field Army, the Central Plains Field Army and the Second Field Army. In June 1947 he and Deng Xiaoping led the army in pressing onward to the Dabie Mountains area, raising the curtain on the PLA's nationwide strategic counter-offensive against Kuomintang troops. Later he helped lead the Huai-Hai and Crossing-the-Yangtze campaigns. After the founding of the People's Republic, he became second secretary of the Southwest Bureau of the CPC Central Committee, chairman of the Southwest Military and Administrative Council, president and political commissar of the PLA's Military Academy, vice-chairman of the CPC Central Committee's Military Commission and of the Standing Committee of the National People's Congress, member of the Seventh through to the Eleventh CPC Central Committee, an of the Political Bureau from the Eighth to the Eleventh CPC Central Committee.