English home Forum Photo Gallery Features Newsletter Archive   About US Help Site Map
- Newsletter
- Online Community
- China Biz Info
- News Archive
- Feedback
- Voices of Readers
- Weather Forecast
 RSS Feeds
- China 
- Business 
- World 
- Sci-Edu 
- Culture/Life 
- Sports 
- Photos 
- Most Popular 
- FM Briefings 
 About China
- China at a glance
- Chinese history
- Constitution
- Laws & regulations
- CPC & state organs
- Chinese leadership
- Selected Works of Deng Xiaoping

Communist Party of China

Founded in July 1921, the Communist Party of China today has more than 67 million members. The ruling party of the People's Republic of China, the CPC holds a National Congress every five years to elect a Central Committee that in turn elects a Political Bureau led by a Standing Committee. The main agencies of the CPC include the Party national congress, the Central Committee, the Central Political Bureau, the Political Bureau's Standing Committee, the Central Secretariat, the Central Military Commission and the Central Commission for Discipline Inspection. The Party national congress is held once every five years. When the national congress is not in session, the Central Committee is the highest leading organ of the CPC. The 16th National Congress of the CPC, held in November 2002, elected a new Central Committee and a new Central Commission for Discipline Inspection, achieving a smooth succession of the CPC's central leadership. The First Plenary Session of the 16th CPC Central Committee elected Hu Jintao as the new general secretary of the CPC Central Committee, Hu Jintao, Wu Bangguo, Wen Jiabao, Jia Qinglin, Zeng Qinghong, Huang Ju, Wu Guanzheng, Li Changchun and Luo Gan as members of the Standing Committee of the Political Bureau of the CPC Central Committee. It also approved Jiang Zemin as chairman of the Central Military Commission and Wu Guanzheng as the secretary of the Central Commission for Discipline Inspection.

Copyright by People's Daily Online, all rights reserved