29 literatus win literature house manuscript awards for 2008 in Myanmar

14:58, December 12, 2009      

Email | Print | Subscribe | Comments | Forum 

A total of 29 literatus have won manuscript awards in Myanmar extended by the Sarpay Beikman (Literature House) for 2008, an announcement of the Sarpay Beikman Manuscript Awards Scrutinizing Committee said on Saturday.

The Sarpay Beikman Manuscript Awards are next to the state's National Literary Awards (NLA).

The 29 literatus respectively won the awards in genres of novel, collected short stories, collected poems, belles-letters, Myanmar culture and fine arts literature, child literature, youth literature, general knowledge (arts), general knowledge (science and applied science) and drama.

Among the 12 genres, there was no winners in the manuscript award in political literary and translation genres, the report said.

Last year, 31 literatus won such awards for 2007.

The Sarpay Beikman was founded as the "Burma (now Myanmar) Translation Society" in 1947 and has published numerous magazines, lexicons illustrated journals and volumes of Myanmar encyclopedia.

According to earlier official report, a total of 11 other literatus have also won the state's NLAs for 2008.

The prize presentation ceremony for the two kinds of awards is set for Dec. 31 in Nay Pyi Taw, according to the committees under the Ministry of Information.

To encourage preservation and promotion of literary and cultural heritage, the government presents the NLAs to successful writers annually, while the Sarpay Beikman also extends its manuscript award to literary talents every year.

Literatus in Myanmar have been urged to serve the national interest and educate people with literature as well as to lead people applying modern arts, new thoughts, theories and ideas.

Source: Xinhua
  • Do you have anything to say?
Special Coverage
Major headlines
Editor's Pick
Most Popular
Hot Forum Dicussion