Ecuador announces team for America's Cup

11:55, June 17, 2011      

Email | Print | Subscribe | Comments | Forum 

The coach of Ecuador's national soccer team on Thursday announced the final selection of the 23 players that will play in the upcoming America's Cup in Argentina.

Coach Reinaldo Rueda's team had a number of surprises, the local sports press said, as many regular players had been left out including Jefferson Montero of the Spanish club Levante and Joao Rojas of Mexico's "Monarcos" club of Morelia which recently made it to the Mexican clubs finals.

Rueda, who started coaching the national team 21 months ago, said the selection is based on the work of the players and said he has confidence in that the team will perform well in the America's Cup that begins on July 1.

"We hope this task will have a happy ending," Rueda said at a press conference, while Luis Chiriboga, president of the Ecuadorian Soccer Federation, called on the people to support the national team.

"The America's Cup will be very difficult, Ecuador's group is very difficult but we can succeed based on our work," Chiriboga said, and asked soccer fans "to trust this will be a serious team that will know how to represent us."

The squad will gather on June 20 for a one-week training stint in Quito before departing for Argentina on June 28.

Ecuador is in Group B together with Brazil, Paraguay and Venezuela.

Following is the squad summoned by Rueda:

Goalkeepers: Maximo Banguera (Barcelona), Marcelo Elizaga (Deportivo Quito) and Alexander Dominguez (Liga de Quito).

Defense: Neicer Reasco (Liga de Quito), Norberto Araujo (Liga de Quito), Luis Checa (Deportivo Quito), Walter Ayovi (Monterrey, Mexico), Gabriel Achilier (Emelec), Giovanni Caicedo (Liga de Quito), Fricson Erazo (El Nacional) and Diego Calderon (Liga de Quito).

Strikers: Oswaldo Minda (Deportivo Quito), Segundo Castillo (Deportivo Quito), Cristian Noboa (Rubin Kazan, Russia), Luis Fernando Saritama (Deportivo Quito), Antonio Valencia (Manchester United, England), David Quiroz (Emelec), Edison Mendez (Emelec) and Michael Arroyo (San Luis, Mexico).

Forwarders: Jaime Ayovi (Pachuca, Mexico), Felipe Caicedo (Levante, Spain), Cristian Benitez (America, Mexico) and Narciso Mina (Independiente Jose Teran).

  Weekly review  


  • Do you have anything to say?


Special Coverage
  • Xi Jinping visits Italy, Cuba, Uruguay, Chile
  • From drought to floods
Major headlines
Editor's Pick
  • "FIVB Heroes" launch in Rome
  • More than 8,500 Syrians take shelter in refugee camps in Turkey
  • 6 children hospitalized in France with E.coli infection-related symptoms
  • Hantuchova edges out Venus Williams at International Women's Open
  • Designer Hsu Yen-lin releases Autumn/Winter collection
  • Go shopping in underwear
Hot Forum Discussion