Woods wins American Golf Writers' player of year award

09:39, December 18, 2009      

Email | Print | Subscribe | Comments | Forum 

Tiger Woods has been voted male Golfer of the Year in the annual Golf Writers of American Awards, the PGA Tour said on Thursday.

Woods received 84 percent of the vote (168 votes), while Steve Stricker and PGA Championship winner Yang Yong-eun only polled 10 percent and six percent respectively.

The American was a runaway winner of the award for the 10th time in 13 seasons despite the recent tabloid revelations about his personal life.

Woods has taken an "indefinite break" from the game after admitting his being unfaithful to his wife.

South Korean Jiyai Shin, the LPGA's Rookie of the Year, won the female player award while Loren Roberts won the senior player of the year prize.

Source: Xinhua
  • Do you have anything to say?
Special Coverage
Major headlines
Editor's Pick
  • Premier Wen meets world leaders in Copenhagen
  • Chinese missile frigates head for home after finishing escort mission
  • Michelle Obama visits Marine Corps Base Quantico
  • Colorful globes in Copenhagen
  • A drop of tear from melting glacier
  • Earth Hour Copenhagen held to raise awareness of climate change
Most Popular
Hot Forum Dicussion