Madagascar's Rajoelina to make third gov't reshuffle: senior official

09:02, February 15, 2011      

Email | Print | Subscribe | Comments | Forum 

The head of Madagascar's Highest Transitional Authority (HAT), Andry Rajoelina, is planning to reshuffle his government for the third time with an objective of resolving the country's political crisis that broke out in December 2008.

A senior official at the prime minister's office who did not want to be named told Xinhua that the reshuffle might be announced this week, although the authorities are still waiting for the arrival of the mediator of the Southern Africa Development Community (SADC).

The naming of this new government which will have members from the protagonist groups is expected to happen once the HAT has agreed to the SADC proposals.

The transitional government was set up on April 17, 2009 by Rajoelina. The government was composed of 22 ministers, out of which, 12 had been named by Rajoelina before the resignation of former president Marc Ravalomanana in March.

The first transitional government was announced by Prime Minister Monja Roindefo on Sept. 8, 2009, but the latter was replaced by Mangalaza Eugene on Oct. 10, 2009.

Mangalaza was a consensus candidate designated by Rajoelina and the three protagonist camps of ex-presidents Ravalomanana, Didier Ratsiraka and Albert Zafy.

But owing to disagreements with the protagonists on how to resolve the crisis, Rajoelina sacked Mangalaza on Dec. 18, 2009 and replaced him with the deputy interior minister, Cecile Manorohanta. Two days later, Rajoelina appointed army chief Camille Vital to head the transitional government.

On Feb. 11, 2010, the deputy prime minister and the foreign minister, Ny Hasina Andriamanjato, resigned, saying other government members "did not want to work with the international community" to resolve the crisis.

On April 7, 2010, Vital sacked his defence minister Noel Rakotonandrasana for "having convened a secret meeting without getting the permission of the head of government."

Rajoelina reshuffled his government for the second time on May 24, 2010 by naming 10 new ministers including five military officers.

Since then, two ministers have resigned from the government under unclear circumstances. On Aug. 17, 2010, the posts and telecommunication minister, Iharizaka Rahaingoson, quit to be followed by the public works minister, Noelson William, on Feb. 9, 2011.

Source: Xinhua

  • Do you have anything to say?


Special Coverage
  • Focus On China
  • Shanghai World Expo 2010
Major headlines
Editor's Pick
  • Wedding dresses exhibition on Valentine's Day
  • Oversea Chinese celebrate Lunar New Year in front of Paris City Hall
  • The Best Places to Kiss on Valentine's Day
  • Centenarian couple celebrates Valentine’s Day
  • Valentine's Day celebrations
  • Canada's oldest mayor to celebrate 90th birthday
Hot Forum Dicussion