Turkish PM unveils new cabinet, designates four deputies

09:48, July 07, 2011      

Email | Print | Subscribe | Comments | Forum 

Turkish Prime Minister Recep Tayyip Erdogan made public his new cabinet on Wednesday, designating four deputy prime ministers.

Erdogan listed his deputies in the new cabinet as Bulent Arinc, Ali Babacan, Besir Atalay and Bekir Bozdag.

Earlier in the day, Erdogan paid a visit to President Abdullah Gul and submitted to him the new cabinet, in which Ahmet Davutoglu will continue to serve as the foreign minister, and Taner Yildiz, still the energy and natural resources minister.

On June 29, Turkish President Abdullah Gul designated Erdogan, who is also the chairman of the Justice and Development Party (AKP) , to form the new government, a statement by the Presidential Press Office said, noting Gul received Erdogan at the presidential residence in the capital of Ankara, and designated Erdogan to form the 61st government of Turkey.

On June 14, Erdogan submitted resignation for his 60th government to Gul, and the Council of Ministers would fulfill its duty till the 61st government is formed, a presidential statement said.

The AKP won the parliamentary elections held on June 12, gaining national votes of 49.8 percent with 327 seats in the parliament.

Source: Xinhua
  Weekly review  


  • Do you have anything to say?


Special Coverage
  • Beijing-Shanghai High-Speed Train now in Operation
  • From drought to floods
Major headlines
Editor's Pick
  • Over 1,000 sculpture works nationwide participates in jade contest in China's Liaoning
  • People fish in Wanquan River in Qionghai, China's Hainan
  • Beijing checks subway stations after fatal crush
  • Obama continues to push debt agenda
  • Pyeongchang wins 2018 Winter Olympics
  • Pyeongchang celebrates winning Winter Olympic bid
Hot Forum Discussion