Two blasts kill 9 in south Russia's Dagestan

15:39, March 31, 2010      

Email | Print | Subscribe | Comments | Forum 

Special: Deadly metro bombings hit Moscow

Nine people, including two police officers, were killed in two blasts on Wednesday in the town of Kizlyar in Russia's volatile North Caucasus region of Dagestan, the Itar-Tass news agency reported.

"According to preliminary information, nine people were killed. Among them was the chief of local police, Vitaly Vedernikov," a local police source told the RIA Novosti news agency.

A policeman was killed on the spot and another one died on the way to hospital, the Itar-Tass quoted a source in the republic's Interior Ministry as saying.

"The car, which was driving 300 meters away from the republican Interior Ministry, the republican Federal Security Service department and gymnasium number one, was blasted at 08:30 a.m.Moscow time (0430 GMT)on Wednesday. The second blast went off at 09:05 a.m.Moscow time (0505 GMT). Two people were killed and five more were injured in the second blast," the source said.

A suicide bomber dressed as policeman was responsible for one of the blasts, the local police and investigators told the RIA Novosti.

Rescuers, firefighters and investigators were working at the blast site.

The blast came two days after two female suicide bombers killed 39 in attacks at the Moscow metro which the authorities have linked to militants from the North Caucasus.

Source: Xinhua

  • Do you have anything to say?

双语词典
dictionary

  
Special Coverage
Major headlines
Editor's Pick
  • 'Green wall' helps curb desertification
  • Moscow mourns victims of attacks
  • Nine killed in Washington area shooting
  • 12th Int'l Energy Forum opens in Mexico
  • Brazil helps Colombia release long-time FARC hostage
  • Yao Ming watches Rockets-Wizards game
Most Popular
Hot Forum Dicussion