U.S. shuttle Atlantis arrives at space station

10:12, November 19, 2009      

Email | Print | Subscribe | Comments | Forum 


The Space Shuttle Atlantis with its open payload bay doors is seen in this view from aboard the International Space Station with the station's robotic arm in the foreground as it approaches the orbital outpost for docking in this image from NASA TV November 18, 2009.(Xinhua/Reuters photo)

U.S. space shuttle Atlantis arrived at the International Space Station Wednesday after nearly two days of journey.

Commander Charles Hobaugh steered the shuttle to a docking with the station at 11:51 a.m. EDT (1651 GMT) when the two spacecrafts were flying 220 miles above the Earth between Australia and Tasmania, NASA said.


Space Shuttle Atlantis Commander Charlie Hobaugh (L) and mission specialist Randy Bresnik work on the aft flight deck of the orbiter as they approach the International Space Station for docking in this image from NASA TV November 18, 2009. (Xinhua/Reuters photo)

The shuttle and station crews will open hatches and hold the traditional welcome ceremony at 1:48 p.m. EDT (1848 GMT). When hatches open, astronauts Nicole Stott's tenure as a station Expedition 21 flight engineer will come to an end as she joints the Atlantis crew.

Source:Xinhua
  • Do you have anything to say?
http://english.people.com.cn/90001/90777/90852/6817600.pdf