Myanmar's new president sworn in, previous ruling body dissolved

14:15, March 30, 2011      

Email | Print | Subscribe | Comments | Forum 

Myanmar's elected president U Thein Sein and two vice presidents, U Tin Aung Myint Oo and Dr. Sai Mauk Kham, were sworn in in the new capital Nay Pyi Taw on Wednesday in the presence of union parliament members.

The swearing-in ceremony took place along with the dissolution of the previous ruling State Peace and Development Council (SPDC) and transfer of power to the new civilian government, former SPDC Chairman Senior-General Than Shwe announced.

Meanwhile, General Min Aung Hlaing was named as new Commander- in-Chief of Myanmar Defense Services, according to state radio and TV.

President U Thein Sein named 30 cabinet ministers, including defense ministerMajor-General Hla Min, home minister Lieutenant- General Ko Ko, border affairs minister and industrial development minister Major-General Thein Htay, and foreign minister U Wunna Maung Lwin.

Source: Xinhua
  Weekly review  


  • Do you have anything to say?


Special Coverage
  • Survey for 2011 NPC and CPPCC Sessions
  • Focus On China
Major headlines
Editor's Pick
  • U.S. holds hearing on Fukushima reactor
  • Venezuelan president meets with Argentinian counterpart
  • Thousand-year-old cypress tree transplanted
  • 'Low levels' of radioactive iodine detected in air of China poses no threat: emergency committee
  • Belgian students ask for coalition government
  • Greek PM renews attack on credit rating agencies over new downgrade of Greece by Standard and Poor's
Most Popular
Hot Forum Dicussion