Drought hits 47 provinces of Thailand

09:58, March 27, 2011      

Email | Print | Subscribe | Comments | Forum 

The Thai authority has declared 354 districts of 47 provinces across the country's 77 provinces as drought disaster zones, an official said.

Of the total, 17 provinces are in the northern region, 15 in the Northeast, 5 in the Central Plains, 7 in the East and 3 in the South, the director-general of the Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation, Wibul Sanguanpong said on Saturday.

The department on Thursday declared 333 districts of 45 provinces as drought disaster zones.

Wibul said despite drought in the upper part of the country, the continuing heavy rain that hit several provinces in the southern region since March 23 had caused flash floods in nine districts of Nakhon Si Thammarat and another eight districts of Phatthalung.

The Meteorological Department on Friday told Phatthalung and other nearby provinces to brace for more rain and possible flash floods until Monday.

Source: Xinhua
  Weekly review  


  • Do you have anything to say?


Special Coverage
  • Survey for 2011 NPC and CPPCC Sessions
  • Focus On China
Major headlines
Editor's Pick
  • 11th Int'l Holiday Fair held in Nairobi
  • New generation passenger aircraft MA600 put into use
  • Flamenco dance drama "Carmen" to begin Taiwan tour
  • Spain, Netherlands both win in Euro qualifying
  • Museum opens for free to mark World Meteorological Day
  • iPad 2 goes on sale in 25 countries
Most Popular
Hot Forum Dicussion