Myanmar parliament approves 34 ministries to form gov't

21:01, February 09, 2011      

Email | Print | Subscribe | Comments | Forum 

The union parliament of Myanmar approved in its current session on Wednesday 34 union government ministries with 30 ministers to form the union government, the state radio and television reported.

The proposal was submitted to the union parliament by president- elect U Thein Sein on Tuesday following the presidential election on Feb. 4..

The 34 approved union government ministries are those of defense, home affairs, border affairs, foreign affairs, information, agriculture and irrigation, finance and revenue, construction, national planning and economic development, commerce, communications, posts and telegraphs, social welfare, relief and resettlement, forestry, livestock and fisheries, mines, cooperatives, labor, transport, hotels and tourism, industry-1, industry-2, rail transportation, energy, electric power-1, electric power-2, education, health, culture, religious affairs, science and technology, immigration and population, sports as well as president's office and industrial development.

Except the last two ministries which are newly added, all the prior ministries are similar to the cabinet of the existing military government.

The 30 ministers, proposed by the president-elect, were also approved by the union parliament.

The 30 are Lieutenant-General Ko Ko, Major-General Hla Min, Major-General Thein Htay, U Wunna Maung Lwin, U Myint Hlaing, U Kyaw Hsan, Wunna Kyaw Htin U Win Myint, U Tint Hsan, U Khin Maung Myint, U Thein Tun, U Hla Tun, U Thein Htaik, U Nyan Tun Aung, U Tin Naing Thein, U Win Tun, U Aung Kyi, U Ohn Myint, U Kyaw Hswar Khaing, U Soe Thein, U Than Htay, U Aung Min, Dr. Mya Aye, Dr. Pe Thet Khin, U Aye Myint, Thura U Myint Maung, U Khin Yi, U Zaw Min, U Khin Maung Soe, U Thein Nyunt and U Soe Maung.

The specific naming of the ministers to related ministries is expected to follow on Friday when the current session resumes.

In Myanmar's presidential election on Feb. 4, Prime Minister U Thein Sein won the presidency, while U Tin Aung Myint Oo and Dr. Sai Mauk Kham were elected as vice presidents.

All of the three represent the Union Solidarity and Development Party (USDP).

The terms of office of the president and the vice presidents are five years, according to the state constitution.

The union parliament is constituted with two level of parliaments -- house of representatives and house of nationalities, involves elected ones in the November 2010 general election and 25- percent military-nominated ones.

Source: Xinhua
  • Do you have anything to say?


Special Coverage
  • Focus On China
  • Shanghai World Expo 2010
Major headlines
Editor's Pick
  • Snow, post-Festival travel rush test Zhengzhou Railway Station
  • Exhibition of intangible cultural relics held in Wuhan
  • "Justin Bieber: Never Say Never" premieres in Los Angeles
  • Chinese begin journey back to work as holiday ends
  • NBA: Milwaukee Bucks beat Toronto Raptors 92-74
  • Secrets inside ancient Mayan relics uncovered in Mexico
Hot Forum Dicussion