Myanmar re-designates areas under new constitution ahead of election

14:14, August 21, 2010      

Email | Print | Subscribe | Comments | Forum 

The ruling Myanmar State Peace and Development Council has re-designated some seven divisions as region status and some district and townships as union territory as well as some townships as self-administered divisions or self- administered zones under a new state constitution being put into operation ahead of the coming multi-party general election.

According to the notifications of the council released on Saturday, former divisions such as Sagaing, Tanintharyi, Bago, Magway, Mandalay, Yangon and Ayeyawaddy are re-designated as regions, while the capital of Nay Pyi Taw is re-designated as district with some townships in the district -- Zeyathiri, Zabuthiri, Dekkhinathin, Ottarathiri, Pobbathiri, Pyinmana, Lewe and Tatkon to constitute as union territory.

The council also delineates some townships in divisions and states as self-administered divisions or zones respectively such as "Wa" self-administered division and Naga, Danu, Pa-O, Pa Laung and Kokang self-administered zones.

The seats of self-administered division and self-administered zones are designated as that Hopang for Wa self-administered division, Lahe for Naga, Pindaya for Danu, Ho Pong for Pa-O, Namshan for Pa Laung and Laukkai for Kokang self-administered zones respectively.



  • Do you have anything to say?


Special Coverage
  • Premier Wen Jiabao visits Hungary, Britain, Germany
  • From drought to floods
Major headlines
Editor's Pick
  • Staff members watch a screen showing the blast-off of the Long March-2FT1 carrier rocket loaded with Tiangong-1 unmanned space lab module at Beijing Aerospace Control Center, Sept. 29, 2011. Commander-in-chief of China's manned space program Chang Wanquan announced Thursday night that the launch of Tiangong-1 space lab module was successful. (Xinhua/Wang Shen)
  • Chinese President Hu Jintao watches the launch of Tiangong-1 space lab module at Beijing Aerospace Control Center in Beijing, capital of China, Sept. 29, 2011. Other members of the Standing Committee of the Political Bureau of the Communist Party of China (CPC) Central Committee, including Wu Bangguo, Jia Qinglin, Li Changchun, Xi Jinping, Li Keqiang and Zhou Yongkang, are also present. (Xinhua/Rao Aimin)
  • The graphics shows the launch procedures of the carrier rocket of Tiangong-1 space lab module, Long March-2FT1 on Sept. 29, 2011. (Xinhua/Lu Zhe)
  • Image taken from Beijing Aerospace Control Center shows a Long March-2FT1 carrier rocket loaded with Tiangong-1 unmanned space lab module blasting off from the launch pad at the Jiuquan Satellite Launch Center in northwest China's Gansu Province, Sept. 29, 2011. (Xinhua)
  • On Sept. 28, tourists travel around the Mingshashan Scenic Area in Dunhuang, Gansu province by camel. With the National Day vacation right around the corner, more and more tourists from home and abroad are going to Dunhuang. Riding on a camel, they travel in the desert to enjoy the cities rare form of natural scenery. (Xinhua/Zhang Weixian)
  • Chinese forest armed forces work together with forest firefighters on Sept. 28. (Xinhua/Chai Liren)
Hot Forum Discussion