Backgrounder: Recent winners of Nobel Prize for Medicine

16:42, October 12, 2009      

Email | Print | Subscribe | Comments | Forum 

The following is a list of winners of the Nobel Prize in Medicine since 2000:

2009: Elizabeth H. Blackburn (U.S. and Australia), Carol W. Greider (U.S.) and Jack W. Szostak (U.S.);

2008: Harald zur Hausen (Germany), Francoise Barre-Sinoussi (France) and Luc Montagnier (France);

2007: Mario Capecchi (U.S.), Oliver Smithies (U.S.) and Martin Evans (Britain);

2006: Andrew Z. Fire (U.S.) and Craig C. Mello (U.S.);

2005: Barry J. Marshall (Australia) and J. Robin Warren (Australia);

2004: Richard Axel (U.S.) and Linda B. Buck (U.S.);

2003: Paul C. Lauterbur (U.S.) and Peter Mansfield (Britain);

2002: Sydney Brenner and John E. Sulston (Britain), and H. Robert Horvitz (U.S.);

2001: Leland Hartwell (U.S.), Timothy Hunt and Paul Nurse (Britain);

2000: Arvid Carlsson (Sweden), Paul Greengard and Eric Kandel (U.S.).

Source: Xinhua
  • Do you have something to say?
Special Coverage
  • 60th anniversary of founding of PRC
Major headlines
Editor's Pick
Most Popular
Hot Forum Dicussion