Text Version
RSS Feeds
Home Forum Photos Features Newsletter Archive Employment
About US Help Site Map
SEARCH   About US FAQ Site Map Site News
  -Text Version
  -RSS Feeds
  -News Archive
  -Give us feedback
  -Voices of Readers
  -Online community
  -China Biz info
  What's new
Backgrounder: East Asia Summit
+ -
16:21, November 21, 2007

 Related News
 3rd East Asia Summit held in Singapore
 ASEAN, South Korea sign services trade agreement
 ASEAN, South Korea sign services trade agreement
 Chinese premier calls for expanding China-ASEAN cooperation for mutual benefit, win-win progress
 China congratulates ASEAN on signing of Charter
 Related Channel News
· Premier visits Singapore, attends the high-level East Asian meetings
 Comment  Tell A Friend
 Print Format  Save Article
The third East Asia Summit (EAS) opened here Wednesday in Singapore, back-to-back with the 13th the Association of Southeast Asian Nations ( ASEAN) Summit and other related Summits.

The third EAS was participated by heads of state or government of the ASEAN countries, Australia, China, India, Japan, the Republic of Korea and New Zealand.

Climate change, energy, health and the environment are priority issues to be discussed during the third EAS.

The East Asia Summit is a pan-Asia forum to be held annually by the ASEAN member countries and participated by the leaders of 16 countries in East Asia and the region, with ASEAN in a leadership position.

After its inaugural in 2005, the EAS has served as a forum for dialogue on broad strategic issues of relevance to East Asia as well as other regional and global issues, with the focus on regional and international issues of common interest and concern such as international terrorism, energy, infectious diseases, sustainable development, poverty reduction and others.

The first EAS was inaugurated on Dec. 14, 2005 in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, and subsequent meetings were held after the annual ASEAN leaders' meetings.

The historic decision for the ASEAN to host the EAS was taken by the ASEAN Plus Three (China, Japan, Republic of Korea) Summit, in Vientiane, Laos, in November 2004.

ASEAN, established in 1967, groups Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Brunei, Vietnam, Laos, Myanmar and Cambodia.

ASEAN believes that it should be in the driver's seat in the EAS and that the EAS will be open and outward looking.

At the end of the third EAS, the leaders will sign the Singapore Declaration on Climate Change, Energy and the Environment.


  Your Message:   Most Commented:
Yi readies for Yao with win
Defense minister: Norway not to spread its forces in Afghanistan
Germany commits over 48 mln USD in grants for Cambodia

|About Peopledaily.com.cn | Advertise on site | Contact us | Site map | Job offer|
Copyright by People's Daily Online, All Rights Reserved