Text Version
RSS Feeds
Home Forum Photos Features Newsletter Archive Employment
About US Help Site Map
SEARCH   About US FAQ Site Map Site News
  -Text Version
  -RSS Feeds
  -News Archive
  -Give us feedback
  -Voices of Readers
  -Online community
  -China Biz info
  What's new
Backgrounder: Basic facts about Southern African Development Community
+ -
07:43, August 16, 2007

 Related News
 All SADC states to be connected to regional power grid by 2012
 SADC ministers meet to prepare for upcoming summit
 Angolan police ready to join SADC standby force: official
 SADC commits to uplifting living standards
 SADC poised to launch free trade area next January: official
 Comment  Tell A Friend
 Print Format  Save Article
The Southern African Development Community (SADC), a major regional bloc in Africa, will begin its annual summit on Thursday in Lusaka, capital of Zambia.

The SADC has been in existence since 1980, when it was formed as a loose alliance of nine majority-ruled states in Southern Africa known as the Southern African Development Coordination Conference (SADCC), with the main aim of coordinating development projects in order to lessen economic dependence on the then apartheid South Africa.

The founding member states of the bloc are Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

The SADCC was formed in Lusaka, Zambia on April 1, 1980, following the adoption of the Lusaka Declaration -- Southern Africa:Towards Economic Liberation.

The transformation of the organization from a coordinating conference into a development community SADC took place on August 17, 1992 in Windhoek, Namibia, when the Declaration and Treaty was signed at the Summit of Heads of State and Government thereby giving the organization a legal character.

The SADC currently has 14 member states, namely, Angola, Botswana, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

The 14 members boast of a total population of over 230 million and a combined gross domestic product (GDP) of over 200 billion U. S. dollars.

The SADC plans to set up a free trade zone by 2008, a customs union by 2010 and a monetary union by 2016.

The annual summit of heads of state and government is SADC highest decision-making body. The summit will be preceded by the Standing Committee of Senior Officials meeting and the Council of Ministers meeting.

The Secretariat is located in Gaborone, capital of Botswana. Tomaz Augusto Salomao of Mozambique is the group's executive secretary.

Source: Xinhua

  Your Message:   Most Commented:
Respond "Nanking" with humanity, respect, tears & applause: Interview
Week's special: Summer peak transportation of rails
NATO, caught in "transformation"
Roadside bomb blast kills 26 people in SW Pakistan

|About Peopledaily.com.cn | Advertise on site | Contact us | Site map | Job offer|
Copyright by People's Daily Online, All Rights Reserved