China publishes its first national territory development plan

15:43, June 09, 2011      

Email | Print | Subscribe | Comments | Forum 

The first national territory development plan since the founding of the People's Republic of China was published on Wednesday.

According to the plan, the country's national territory is divided into four categories, namely development zones to be optimized, key development zones, limited development zones and prohibited development zones.

The national territory development plan stressed a principle that each region should determine its major functions and development modes based on the carrying capacity of natural resources, said Xu Xianping, vice minister of the National Development and Reform Commission (NDRC).

Among the four categories, development zones to be optimized and key development zones are urban areas and make up a larger portion of the country's Gross Domestic Product. Limited development zones involves China’s 25 key ecological functional zones, including forest ecological functional zones in Daxinganling Mountains and Xiaoxinganling mountains and Sanjiangyuan functional ecological zone around the sources of the Yangtze, Yellow, and Lancang rivers.

By Qi Shiwen, People's Daily Online

  Weekly review  


  • Do you have anything to say?


Special Coverage
  • China battles droughts
  • Wen Jiabao attends trilateral leaders' meeting of China, Japan and ROK
Major headlines
Editor's Pick
  • U.S. first lady visits bilingual child care center in Washington
  • Argentina's Bariloche covered in ash
  • More Syrian refugees enter Turkey
  • Charming chocolate heaven
  • Wonderful scenery of Hulun Buir Grassland
  • Free fruit, vegetables offered in Spain
Hot Forum Discussion