China's Ivy League:C9 League

    News           Education            Science            China Military            China Society           Opinions  


China's Ivy League:C9 League 

Editor's note:In 2009, Peking University, Tsinghua University, Fudan University, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Nanjing University, University of Science and Technology of China, Zhejiang University, Xi'an Jiao Tong University and Harbin Institute of Technology formalize an elite group to foster better students, sharing their resources. This group is called C9 League, China's Ivy League.

Tsinghua University

Tsinghua University was established in 1911, originally under the name “Tsinghua Xuetang”. The school was renamed "Tsinghua School" in 1912. The university section was founded in 1925. The name “National Tsinghua University” was adopted in 1928.



Peking University

Founded in 1898, Peking University was originally known as the Imperial University of Peking. It was the first national university covering comprehensive disciplines in China, and has been a leading institution of higher education in China since its establishment. It also served as the highest administration for education at the beginning of its founding.


Zhejiang University

Zhejiang University is a comprehensive national university. Founded in 1897, Zhejiang University was initially known as “Qiushi Shuyuan” (Qiushi Academy), one of the earliest modern academies of higher learning established in China.

Harbin Institute of Technology

Founded in 1920, Harbin Institute of Technology, with science, engineering and research as its core, encompassing management and liberal arts, economy and law, is now developing into an open, multi-disciplinary and world-class university.


Fudan University

Initially known as "Fudan Public School", Fudan University was founded in the year 1905. "Fudan", literally meaning "(heavenly light shines) day after day", indicates inexhaustible self-reliance and industriousness. The single and solitary goal of Fudan is to cultivate more and more all-round talents for modern China.

Shanghai Jiao Tong University

An imperial edict issued in 1896 by Emperor Guangxu, established Nanyang Public School in Shanghai. Since the reform and opening up policy in China, the university has taken the lead in management reform of institutions for higher education, regaining its vigor and vitality with an unprecedented momentum of growth.


Nanjing University

Nanjing University, one of China`s key comprehensive universities under the direct supervision of the Ministry of Education, dates from 1902 when it was known as Sanjiang Normal School. In its over 100 years` history, NJU has cultivated a great number of prominent and learned figures, and thus has greatly contributed to the nation`s revitalization and development.

University of Science and Technology of China

University of Science and Technology of China was established in Beijing in September 1958 under the presidential leadership of Guo Moruo. The establishment was hailed as "a major event in the history of Chinese science and education".



Xi'an Jiaotong University

Founded in Shanghai in 1896 as Nanyang Public, it was renamed Jiaotong University in 1921. In 1956, at the direction of the State Council, the university was moved to Xi'an, and renamed Xi'an Jiaotong University.



Related News

Nobel Prize laureates plant trees in Newton Garden at Nanjing University 

Ceremony held to celebrate 110th anniversary of Nanjing University founding


College lessons in attracting foreign students


List ranks colleges by prominent alumni


Peking and Tsinghua top in donations from grads


Tsinghua has most billionaire alumni


HK students aim for mainland universities


Have Chinese universities lost their own features?


China launches plan to promote universities' innovation ability

About Us| Contact Us| Site Map| Advertise on site
Copyright by People's Daily Online, All Rights Reserved