Latest News:  
Beijing   Sunny/Overcast    7 / -3   City Forecast

People's Daily Online>>Science

Russia launches two communications satellites

(Xinhua)

09:37, December 12, 2011

MOSCOW, Dec. 11 (Xinhua) -- Russia launched a Proton-M rocket carrying two communications satellites from the Baikonur space center in Kazakhstan on Sunday, the federal space agency Roscosmos said.

Roscosmos said the rocket was launched at 15:17 Moscow time (1117 GMT) and would send one Russian and one Israeli satellite into orbit.

"The separation of Russia's Luch-5A spacecraft is scheduled for 00:11 Moscow time on Monday (2011 GMT Sunday), while Israel's Amos-5 satellite will separate at 00:52 Moscow time (2052 GMT Sunday)," Roscosmos said.

The agency said the Luch-5A satellite was designed to relay information from low-flying space objects in order to track them along their trajectories.

Israel's AMOS-5 will join the satellite grouping of AMOS-2 and AMOS-3 to provide various satellite services to customers in the Middle East, Central and Eastern Europe and Central Asia and Africa.

 
 
 
 
We Recommend
 
 
 

Email|Print|Comments(Editor:王莉莉)

Leave your comment0 comments

  1. Name

  

Selections for you


  1. Fireworks illuminate Juzizhou island

  2. PLA Deputy Chief meets Bangladesh Army Chief

  3. Artworks of Filipino artist exhibited in HK

  4. A show of hands

Most Popular

Opinions

  1. Doubts linger over EU efforts to curb debt crisis
  2. Durban should maintain two-track system
  3. China: Russian election result reflects people's will
  4. Eurozone needs to balance present and future
  5. World over-thinking China's military intentions
  6. Low pay, tough competition for graduates
  7. Internet piracy down as gov't toughens regulations
  8. China urges more voice from developing countries
  9. China-led strong currency area foreseeable
  10. Can US-Pakistan ties survive current crisis?

What's happening in China

Beijing SWAT team shows skills

  1. China faces severe plasma shortage
  2. Pledge to boost wildlife fight
  3. China marks 10th anniversary of WTO entry
  4. Regulator punishes phoney drug producers
  5. Transgenic fish helps expand protein sources

PD Online Data

  1. Yangge in Shaanxi
  2. Gaoqiao in Northern China
  3. The drum dance in Ansai
  4. Shehuo in Baoji City
  5. The dragon dance