NASA waves off Atlantis' first landing attempt

UPDATED: 13:55, June 23, 2007

Uncooperative weather at Kennedy Space Center in Florida forced NASA to pass on Atlantis' first landing attempt on Friday, and now hopes turn to next orbit, according to NASA official website.

The Atlantis crew and NASA's mission control team now turned their attention to the next orbit, which has opportunities available in Florida and at Edwards Air Force Base in California.

Kennedy is the primary site and the next landing opportunity at the Florida spaceport is at 3:55 p.m. EDT (1955 GMT). The Edwards landing opportunity is at 3:49 p.m. EDT (1949 GMT), according to Mission Control Center.

Rain showers were the reason for the wave off of the first landing attempt at Kennedy. Flight controllers and forecasters continue to monitor the weather at both landing facilities. Two more opportunities -- 5:23 p.m. and 6:59 p.m. EDT -- are available today at Edwards, said NASA.

Source: Xinhua


People's Daily Online --- http://english.people.com.cn/