Cyprus to host small European states' games in 2009

Cyprus will host the 13th Games of Small States in Europe (GSSE) in June, 2009, the Cyprus News Agency reported on Tuesday.

Cyprus' application, presented on Monday by its Olympic Committee, was accepted in Monaco where the 12th games are being held.

Monaco, Cyprus, Iceland, Luxembourg, San Marino, Malta, Liechtenstein and Andorra are participating in the current Monaco games. Montenegro will join the eight states in the 2009 event in Cyprus.

Luxembourg and Iceland will host the next two GSSE, respectively in 2013 and 2015.

Source: Xinhua

People's Daily Online ---