English home Forum Photo Gallery Features Newsletter Archive   About US Help Site Map
- Newsletter
- Online Community
- China Biz Info
- News Archive
- Feedback
- Voices of Readers
- Weather Forecast
 RSS Feeds
- China 
- Business 
- World 
- Sci-Edu 
- Culture/Life 
- Sports 
- Photos 
- Most Popular 
- FM Briefings 
 About China
- China at a glance
- China in brief 2004
- Chinese history
- Constitution
- Laws & regulations
- CPC & state organs
- Ethnic minorities
- Selected Works of Deng Xiaoping

Home >> Sci-Edu
UPDATED: 08:21, September 13, 2006
Six scientists win Shaw Prize in HK
font size    

Six scientists were awarded the Shaw Prize Tuesday at a prize-giving ceremony for their outstanding achievements in astronomy, life science and medicine, and mathematical sciences.

The Mathematical Science Award was jointly given to Professor Wu Wentsun of University of the Chinese Academy of Sciences at Beijing of the Mainland and Professor David Mumford of the Brown University of America.

Wu and Mumford were respectively commended for contributing to the new interdisciplinary fields of mathematics and mechanization and that of pattern theory and vision research.

Professor Saul Perlmutter of the University of California in Berkeley of America, Professor Adam Riess of the Space Telescope Science Institute of America and Professor Brian Schmidt of the Australian National University of Australia received the Astronomy Award.

They were commended for discovering that the expansion rate of universe is accelerating, implying in the simplest interpretation that the energy density of space is non-vanishing in the absence of any matter and radiation.

Life Science and Medicine Award went to Professor Wang Xiaodong of the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas of America for his discovery of the biochemical basis of programmed cell death, a vital process that balances cell birth and defends against cancer.

Established in 2002 under the auspices of Run Run Shaw, the annual Prize consists of three prizes including Astronomy, Life Science and Medicine, and Mathematical Sciences. Each prize bearing a monetary award of one million US dollars.

The Prize honors individuals who have achieved significant breakthrough in academic and scientific research or application and whose work has resulted in a positive and profound impact on mankind.

Source: Xinhua

Comments on the story Comment on the story Recommend to friends Tell a friend Print friendly Version Print friendly format Save to disk Save this

- Text Version
- RSS Feeds
- China Forum
- Newsletter
- People's Comment
- Most Popular
 Related News

Manufacturers, Exporters, Wholesalers - Global trade starts here.
Copyright by People's Daily Online, all rights reserved