English home Forum Photo Gallery Features Newsletter Archive   About US Help Site Map
- Newsletter
- Online Community
- China Biz Info
- News Archive
- Feedback
- Voices of Readers
- Weather Forecast
 RSS Feeds
- China 
- Business 
- World 
- Sci-Edu 
- Culture/Life 
- Sports 
- Photos 
- Most Popular 
- FM Briefings 
 About China
- China at a glance
- China in brief 2004
- Chinese history
- Constitution
- Laws & regulations
- CPC & state organs
- Ethnic minorities
- Selected Works of Deng Xiaoping

Home >> World
UPDATED: 07:56, July 26, 2006
ASEAN countries sign agreement on visa exemption
font size    

The ASEAN (Association of Southeast Asian Nations) foreign ministers signed Tuesday an ASEAN Framework Agreement on Visa Exemption to facilitate intra ASEAN travel and boost the tourism sector, people-to-people linkages and economic development among ASEAN members.

The agreement was signed at the end of the one-day 39th ASEAN Ministerial Meeting (AMM), which was attended by foreign ministers from ASEAN's 10 member states, namely Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

The agreement exempts citizens of member countries from visa requirements for a social visit of up to 14 days from the date of entry.

However, the agreement shall not affect the implementation of existing bilateral protocols/arrangements and the respective laws and regulations on visa exemption between member countries.

Currently, except for Myanmar, Malaysia provides visa-free facility of up to one month stay for citizens of all member countries with diplomatic, official/service and ordinary passports. However, Myanmar citizens holding either Diplomatic or official passport also enjoy this visa-free facility by Malaysia.

Only Thailand and the Philippines have entered into bilateral visa arrangements pertaining to ordinary passports with Myanmar.

In the light of the ASEAN Framework Agreement on Visa Exemption, Malaysia and member countries concerned are expected to negotiate bilaterally with Myanmar on the visa-free facility for social visit of up to 14 days for those holding ordinary passports.

This agreement will enter into force when instruments of ratification or approval from all ASEAN member countries have been deposited.

Source: Xinhua

Comments on the story Comment on the story Recommend to friends Tell a friend Print friendly Version Print friendly format Save to disk Save this

- Text Version
- RSS Feeds
- China Forum
- Newsletter
- People's Comment
- Most Popular
 Related News

Manufacturers, Exporters, Wholesalers - Global trade starts here.
Copyright by People's Daily Online, all rights reserved