English home Forum Photo Gallery Features Newsletter Archive   About US Help Site Map
- Newsletter
- Online Community
- China Biz Info
- News Archive
- Feedback
- Voices of Readers
- Weather Forecast
 RSS Feeds
- China 
- Business 
- World 
- Sci-Edu 
- Culture/Life 
- Sports 
- Photos 
- Most Popular 
- FM Briefings 
 About China
- China at a glance
- China in brief 2004
- Chinese history
- Constitution
- Laws & regulations
- CPC & state organs
- Ethnic minorities
- Selected Works of Deng Xiaoping

Home >> World
UPDATED: 08:47, May 16, 2006
Myanmar makes first government cabinet reshuffle since move of capital
font size    

Myanmar made first government reshuffle on Monday since move of its capital to Nay Pyi Taw city, allowing two ministers to retire, appointing four new ministers and reassigning two ministers as well as expanding the Ministry of Electric Power to two.

State-run Radio Myanmar said that under a series of orders of the State Peace and Development Council, signed by its First Secretary Lieutenant-General Thein Sein, Minister of Culture Major- General Kyi Aung, Minister of Social Welfare, Relief and Resettlement cum Minister of Immigration and Population Major- General Sein Htwa and Immigration Deputy Minister U Maung Aung were allowed to retire.

Major-General Soe Naing was appointed as Minister of Hotels and Tourism, Major-General Khin Maung Myint as Minister of Electric Power-2, Major-General Maung Maung Swe as Minister of Social Welfare, Relief and Resettlement cum Minister of Immigration and Population, and Major-General Khin Aung Myint as Minister of Culture, the report said.

Of the four newly appointed ministers, three were transfered from the posts of regional commanders who are Major-General Soe Naing previously holding the post as Southeastern Commander, Major- General Khin Maung Myint as Western Commander and Major-General Maung Maung Swe as Coastal Region Commander.

The three vacant posts of regional commanders have not yet been declared.

Minister of Cooperative Colonel Zaw Min was reassigned as Minister of Electric Power-1, while the original Minister of Electric Power Major-General Tin Htut as Minister of Cooperative, it said.

The report also said that four new deputy ministers were named who are Major-General Aung Kyi for Ministry of Immigration and Population, Dr. Paing Soe for Ministry of Health, Major-General Kyi Wai and Major-General Aye Myint for Ministry of Defense.

Source: Xinhua

Comments on the story Comment on the story Recommend to friends Tell a friend Print friendly Version Print friendly format Save to disk Save this

- Text Version
- RSS Feeds
- China Forum
- Newsletter
- People's Comment
- Most Popular
 Related News

Manufacturers, Exporters, Wholesalers - Global trade starts here.
Copyright by People's Daily Online, all rights reserved