News Letter
English home Forum Photo Gallery Features Newsletter Archive   About US Help Site Map
- Newsletter
- Online Community
- China Biz Info
- News Archive
- Feedback
- Voices of Readers
- Weather Forecast
 About China
- China at a glance
- Chinese history
- Constitution
- CPC & state organs
- Chinese leadership
- Selected Works of Deng Xiaoping

Home >> World
UPDATED: 08:36, December 24, 2004
Afghan president announces new cabinet list
font size    

Afghan President Hamid Karzai Thursday evening announced the much-awaited new cabinet line-up, replacing some of the influential warlords in the interim government with new faces.

Defense Minster Mohammad Qasim Fahim, who helped the US army topple the former Taliban regime in 2001, was replaced by his deputy, the US-educated General Abdul Rahim Wardak, according to adecree by Karzai that was announced on Afghan state television.

Fahim, the military leader of the former Northern Alliance, wasalso removed from the post of Vice President ahead of the country's first direct presidential elections held on October 9.

Anwarul Haq Ahadi, the former governor of the country's centralbank was appointed as Minister for Finance.

Ali Ahmad Jalali keeps his post as Interior Minister in the newcabinet. Herat's former Governor Ismael Khan was named as Minister for Energy and Water.

Mohammad Yunus Qanooni, the former Education Minister and Karzai's main rival in the presidential poll, has been excluded from the new government.

Hadullah Qadiri, a less known politician, was appointed as the head the newly-established Ministry of Counter-narcotics.

Karzai, who was sworn in as the first popularly elected president of the post-war Afghanistan on Dec. 7, has repeatedly promised to act under the constitution in selecting his cabinet ministers as the constitution requires a minister to have university degree and Afghan nationality.

It is widely believed that row between former resistance leaders and those West-educated technocrats has caused Karzai to delay his appointment of the cabinet.

List of new ministers:

Commerce Minister Mohammad Amin Arsala;

Foreign Minister Abdullah Abdullah;

Defense Minister General Abdul Rahim Wardak;

Interior Minister Ali Ahmad Jalali;

Education Minister Noor Mohammad Qarqin;

Finance Minister Anwarul Haq Ahadi;

Minister for Economy Mir Mohammad Amin Farhang;

Minister for Energy and Water General Mohammad Ismail;

Minister for Transport Anayatullah Qasimi;

Telecommunication Minister Amirzai Sangin;

Minister for Mines and Industries Mir Mohammad Sidiq;

Minister for Public Works Sohrab Ali Safari;

Minister for Housing Mohammad Yusuf Pashtun;

Minister for Agriculture, Food and Livestock Abdullah Ramin;,

Minister for Justice Sarwar Danish;

Minister for Higher Education Syed Amin Shah Hasanyar;

Minister for Culture and Information Syed Makhdom Rahin;

Minister for Haj and Religious Affairs Nematullah Shahrani;

Minister for Public Health Syed Mohammad Amin Fatimi;

Minister for Tribes and Frontiers Abdul Karim Barawi;

Minister for Women Affairs Mrs. Masouda Jalalal;

Minister for Work and Manpower Syed Akramudin Masumi;

Minister for Refugees Azam Dadfar;

Minister for Disabled and Martyrs Mrs. Sidiqa Balkhi;

Minister for Rural Rehabilitation and Development Mohammad Hanif Atmar;

Minister for Counter Narcotics Habibullah Qadiri.

Source: Xinhua

Comments on the story Comment on the story Recommend to friends Tell a friend Print friendly Version Print friendly format Save to disk Save this

- China Forum
- PD Newsletter
- People's Comment
- Most Popular
 Related News
- US military to launch winter offensive against Taliban

- Karzai sworn-in as Afghan president 

- Yearender: Constitution, election bolster faster rebuilding in Afghanistan

- French defense minister to spend New Year's eve in Afghanistan

Copyright by People's Daily Online, all rights reserved