FIFA Announces All-Star Team for the 2002 World Cup

Based on player performances through the semifinal stage (62 matches) of the 2002 World Cup, the FIFA Technical Study Group (TSG) has selected a total of 16 players for the All-star Team of this year's tournament.

Following is a list of the 16 players selected for the All-Star Team:

Goalkeepers: Oliver Kahn (Germany); Rustu Recber (Turkey)

Defenders: Roberto Carlos (Brazil); Sol Campbell (England); Hong Myung Bo (South Korea); Alpay Ozalan (Turkey); Fernando Hierro(Spain)

Midfielders: Rivaldo, Ronaldinho (Brazil); Claudio Reyna (United States); Michael Ballack (Germany); Yoo Sang Chul (South Korea)

Forwards: Ronaldo (Brazil); El Hadji Diouf (Senegal); Hasan Sas (Turkey); Miroslav Klose (Germany)

Note: The FIFA TSG is coordinated by Jean-Paul Brigger, head of FIFA's Development Programs. During the tournament, he has beenresponsible for Japan and his FIFA colleague Jurg Nepfer for SouthKorea. The 10-member group is headed by Dr. Jozef Venglos.

Players who were eliminated with their team in the first round and round of 16 have not been taken into consideration.

People's Daily Online ---